Media Contact: 

Jack Mello, PR for Marketing Hall of Fame



American Marketing Association New York

Opens Nominations for 2020 Marketing Hall of Fame®

NEW YORK, September 16, 2019 — The American Marketing Association New York today announced the open call for nominations for the prestigious 2020 Marketing Hall of Fame®.


The nominations, which are free and open to the public, can be submitted by visiting  Both members and non-members of the AMA New York can submit nominations, deadline is October 9, 2019.  Marketers nominated in the past must be re-nominated this year to be eligible for 2020 induction.  


Inductees will be announced in February, and honored at the gala induction ceremony on April 21, 2020 at the office of R/GA New York.


The Marketing Hall of Fame ( was established to “inspire and celebrate brilliance in marketing” across all fields and industries, recognizing individuals who are making outstanding contributions to the field and inspiring a new generation of marketers.


The annual honor is open to any current marketing practitioner from the corporate, agency, research or academic worlds with a minimum of 10 years’ experience who is responsible for marketing innovations that have had dramatic impact on business results, raised marketing’s profile in business overall or moved the profession forward by creating new tools and approaches.


Inductees include leaders who have transformed the role of marketing: David Aaker, vice chair, Prophet and professor emeritus, Berkeley-Haas School of Business; former Facebook CMO Gary Briggs; Patagonia founder Yvon Chouinard; TBWA\Media Arts Lab chairman emeritus Lee Clow; former GE CMO/vice chair Beth Comstock; former Nike Brands president Trevor Edwards; best-selling business author and speaker Seth Godin; R/GA founder/executive chair Bob Greenberg; former American Express CMO John Hayes; former IBM SVP Jon Iwata; author and distinguished professor at Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University Philip Kotler; Ogilvy chairman emeritus Shelly Lazarus; MetLife, Inc. EVP/global CMO Esther Lee; marketing strategist/author Al Ries; former P&G CMO Jim Stengel; former Subway, Coca-Cola and Allstate CMO Joseph Tripodi; and Jerry WindPhD, professor of Marketing, The Wharton School. 


“The Marketing Hall of Fame is a brand unto itself that stands for excellence and career achievement in our field,” said Robert Kahn, Marketing Hall of Fame co-chair, a past AMA New York president and SVP, Global Business Development, Elateral.  “The annual program is designed to recognize these well-deserving industry visionaries and engage the broader marketing community in the year-long process of nominations, voting and judging.”


“The Marketing Hall of Fame is the only honor that recognizes those who make outstanding contributions to marketing across all disciplines and specialties, whether they come from a brand, agency, research, academia or consulting,” said Joanna Seddon, president, Global Brand Consulting at Ogilvy, a past president of AMA New York and Marketing Hall of Fame co-chair.  “We encourage everyone to submit nominations for great marketers whom they believe are worthy of inclusion in our next group of inductees.”


The Induction Process

Nominations are evaluated by the Marketing Hall of Fame Committee against four criteria: marketing that drives extraordinary business results; raising marketing’s profile; marketing innovation and creativity; and inspiring and developing other marketers.


A short-list of the 50 most highly-qualified nominees is then voted on by the Marketing Hall of Fame Academy, an exclusive, invitation-only body of 250 senior marketers, agency executives, researchers and academics hand-selected by the committee and AMA New York Board of Directors, who cast ballots to determine the 12 finalists.  


A final panel of judges, made up of past inductees and top executives from the leading marketing associations and organizations, will then select the 2020 inductees.


Past sponsors of the Marketing Hall of Fame include P&G, Unilever, Facebook, IBM, Google, Twitter, Adobe, AOL,Deloitte, PricewaterhouseCoopers, American Express, GE, Blackstone Group, The Wall Street Journal,R/GA, WPP, J. Walter Thompson, BBDO, DDB, Ogilvy, McCann Worldgroup, Wieden+Kennedy, MBLM, SY Partners, OMD | the grid, media partnerAdvertising Age, Columbia Business School, GreenBook, Insight Innovation Exchange, Thornberg & Forester, Verse Group LLCand others.

For information about sponsorship opportunities, please contact AMA New York board member Lee Hornick, Marketing Hall of Fame sponsorship director, at

The mission of the AMA New York ( is to inspire, support and celebrate brilliance in marketing. Founded in 1931, the AMA New York is the principal community for marketing professionals across all industries and disciplines in the New York area. Offering programs, monthly events, and interaction with the chapter through volunteer activities, we provide marketers with an opportunity to increase their knowledge and reach in the marketing community.

# # #