American Marketing Association, NY Chapter Opens Call for Nominations for 2016 Marketing Hall of Fame®

NEW YORK, October 1, 2015 – The American Marketing Association, NY Chapter (NYAMA) today announced the open call for nominations for 2016 Marketing Hall of Fame® inductees, who will be honored at an induction ceremony on April 28, 2016 at PwC headquarters in New York.

Nominations, which are free of charge and open to the public, can be submitted by visiting https://mhof.wpengine.com/nominate/. Multiple nominations can be submitted before the November 15, 2015 deadline.

The Marketing Hall of Fame (www.marketinghalloffame.org) was established to celebrate brilliance in marketing across all fields and industries. Each year, the program recognizes individuals who are making outstanding contributions to the field and inspiring a new generation of marketers.

The honor is open to any current marketing practitioner from the corporate, agency, research or academic worlds with a minimum of 10 years experience who is responsible for marketing innovations that have had dramatic impact on business results, raised marketing’s profile in business overall or moved the profession forward by creating new tools and approaches.

Recent past Marketing Hall of Fame inductees include such renowned practitioners as Trevor Edwards, president, Nike Brand; Yvon Chouinard, founder, Patagonia; Shelly Lazarus, chairman emeritus, Ogilvy & Mather; Beth Comstock, SVP, CMO, GE; Joseph V. Tripodi, former EVP, chief marketing & commerce officer, The Coca-Cola Company; David Aaker, vice chairman, Prophet and professor emeritus, BerkeleyHaas School of Business, UC Berkeley; and Philip Kotler, author and distinguished professor of International Marketing, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University.

“As we enter our third year, the Marketing Hall of Fame is experiencing a strong surge of momentum,” said Robert Kahn, founder, Kahn Consulting, Inc. and chair of the Marketing Hall of Fame Committee. “We are attracting hundreds of highly qualified nominees, honoring outstanding inductees and hosting a growing annual induction ceremony event in New York,”

“The New York chapter of the AMA celebrates brilliance in all aspects of marketing,” added Joanna Seddon, president, Global Brand Consulting, OgilvyRED and current NYAMA president. “As part of that effort, the Marketing Hall of Fame provides a new and exciting opportunity for the industry to come together and recognize an extremely select group of our colleagues for their leadership and brilliance in marketing.”

Selection process:
All open nominations are evaluated against the four criteria by the NYAMA Marketing Hall of Fame Committee, who narrow the field to 40-50 semi-finalists. This shortlist is then reviewed by the Marketing Hall of Fame Academy, an exclusive, invitation-only body of 200 senior marketers, agency executives, researchers and academics hand-selected by the NYAMA Board of Directors, who cast ballots to determine the 12 finalists.

Marketing Hall of Fame Academy members represent a cross-section of leading professionals from a variety of industries, including executives from Google, Facebook, Samsung, MasterCard, Diageo, General Mills, Ford Motors, GM, Wal-Mart, Pfizer, IBM, Cisco, Boeing and many others, as well as academics from Columbia Business School and the Wharton School of Business. For a complete list of Marketing Hall of Fame Academy members, please visit https://mhof.wpengine.com/marketing-hall-of-fame-academy/.

A final Judging Panel made up of past inductees and top executives from the leading marketing and advertising associations and organizations then reviews the dozen finalists and selects the four 2016 inductees, who will be announced to the public in February.

The 2016 Marketing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on April 28, 2016 at PwC headquarters in New York, where the evening will include cocktails and dinner followed by presentations from each inductee on the future of marketing.

The NYAMA Marketing Hall of Fame Committee includes Robert Kahn; Joanna Seddon; Don Sexton, professor of marketing, Columbia Business School; Randall Ringer, CEO, Verse Group LLC; Lukas Pospichal, managing director, GreenBook and NYAMA; David Rogers, faculty, Digital Marketing and executive director, BRITE, Columbia Business School; Lee Hornick, president, Business Communications Worldwide; Priya Doty, senior director product marketing, CA Technologies; Elizabeth Kiehner, global design services manager/chief of staff, IBMix; Christiano Andreotti, creative director, Verse Group, LLC; Antonino Berretta, digital marketing specialist, Canon; Nancy Cardenas, account manager, GreenBook; Jack Mello, Jack Mello PR and others.

Past sponsors of the Marketing Hall of Fame included a range of leading brands and agencies such as American Express, IBM, GE, Blackstone Group, Twitter, The Wall Street Journal, Advertising Age, J. Walter Thompson, BBDO, Ogilvy, R/GA, McCann Worldgroup, Wieden+Kennedy, OMD | the grid, Columbia Business School, GreenBook, Insight Innovation Exchange, Thornberg & Forester, Verse Group LLC and others. For information about sponsorship opportunities, please contact Robert Kahn at bob@kahnconsulting.com.

The mission of the New York American Marketing Association (NYAMA, www.nyama.org) is to inspire, support and celebrate brilliance in marketing. Founded in 1931, the NYAMA is the principal community for marketing professionals across all industries and disciplines in the New York area. Offering programs, monthly events, and interaction with the chapter through volunteer activities, we provide marketers with an opportunity to increase their knowledge and reach in the marketing community.

# # #

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram